On blog awards and recognition

It is a pleasure to be nominated for Liebster Award, an award given to new and upcoming blogs that deserve some attention. However, there are more pleasurable rewards that nominated bloggers can discover later than the prospect of expanding their network in the blogosphere.

One of them is the chance to really get to know fellow bloggers, not by chance, but on purpose.

The nomination goes in cycle, so the nominated blog will eventually become the nominator. A blog with less than 200 followers is immediately qualified, but whether they’ll make the cut or not would depend on the nominator’s discretion.

In my case, I tried my best to look beyond the number. I visited each blog that follows this blog, checked out their ‘About Me’ page and determine whether the content of their blog live up to their blog’s purpose. It was a time-consuming process, I admit. But the reward was more pleasurable as I discovered treasures that I can only find in their blogs.

While some of them I have already known from somewhere, many of them are strangers to me. Taking the “screening” process “seriously” allows me to have a glimpse at their unique personalities and the voice they use to tell their stories.

There are great storytellers both through pictures and text, such as

Scene Stealer

RasaGrafikaManila

Products of Insomnia

There are some I admire for their knack for writing. Not to mention that I missed them for we used to exchange comments on a regular basis until things got a little differently.

Far Gazer, Life Chaser

RiderAko

Then there are also the budding photographers whose shots are far from amateurish

ADVENTURES OF WAKAOUJI

Danventures/moredantravels

Ninyablue

Other blogs that are just as interesting for their unique and sincere take at blogging

damn circus acts

wrestle with writing

Dazzling Sunshine

FindMeABreak

And some more that I hope to see become more active bloggers because there’s much more they can offer. It’s all written in their writing style.

[UNI]VERSES|(UN)WRITTEN

DailyReverie

AspiretoInspire

doraylakwatsera

Karen

Thank you, Ailene Rhea of Incurable Wanderlust for nominating this blog. More than the recognition, I discovered a way of (re)connecting with other bloggers that is more intimate than I expected.

liebster-award

Note: I skipped some of the instructions for responding to the nomination. Here are the original Liebster Award Rules:

  • Thank and link the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions given by the nominator.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers, who have X (or less than 200) followers and link them.
  • Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
  • Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Ailene Rhea’s 11 Questions and my answer to each question.

  1. Apart from travel tales, what else can we read about on your blog? I intend to write blogging tips based on my experience.
  2. Your most memorable travel story so far? I have many but I choose the story I wrote for Rappler’s PH Travel section on Mother’s Day. It’s about Mary Daoas, Sagada’s beloved mother figure. 
  3. What made you/got you travelling in the first place? I came across a photo of a place from the blog of a person I happen to admire. That photo got stuck in my head, until one day I found myself planning a trip to that place with my college friends. 
  4. How many countries, continents and cities have you set foot in? 3 countries, 1 continent, and 30 cities.
  5. What’s the longest time you’ve been away from home? 6 months
  6. What’s the one souvenir you just had to have? I am not into souvenirs
  7. Have you ever lost your luggage/backpack? When? Where? Nope, that has not happened to me and I hope it won’t happen to me. But there’s one incident when I left my pouch with my IDs at the airport’s toilet. Five minutes later my friends and I heard my name being called by the staff at the information booth.
  8. What are 5 items you always take with you travelling? Tissue and hankies, shawl, food, mobile phone with Internet connection, and headphone. 
  9. Are you an over packer or under packer? Definitely an under packer.
  10. What type of camera (model, brand) do you take with you when travelling? I don’t bring any. I entrust my travel photos to my more adept photographer friends and travel buddies.
  11. If given the chance, where would you like to settle? I am not sure yet where I would exactly want to settle, but I am sure it is not in an overly urbanized city. 
11 thoughts on “On blog awards and recognition

  1. Hey Mavic! You’re right, I haven’t been active for almost a year now. Rest assured I’m always lurking and hopefully write something again.

    Thank you for the nomination and please do write more on blogging tips, I’m sure I will learn a lot!

  2. Mavic, thank you for taking time and effort in putting your list together, and I am honored to be in it. Like you I take pride in promoting our country, and since you mentioned you entrust your travel photos to friends because you don’t bring a camera with you, I sincerely give you my blessing to borrow my travel photos for your posts, should you find them useful in your stories. I wish you luck in your future journeys, and hope you never waver in your eager storytelling. Bloggers, like writers, do have the block too. And it takes a while to get back into the groove, if you know what I mean. So thank you for reminding me that my works are appreciated. 🙂

    By the way, I love Albay… 🙂

    1. Hi Ms. Jojie, that was one thoughtful response, not to mention sincere and encouraging. Plus, you’re allowing me to use your photos! Wow! I admit that surprised me but in a really good kind of way. Thank you! I’ll give proper credit, of course. I have yet to check your old posts because every time I visit your blog I leave inspired and feeling good.

      Glad you enjoyed Albay 🙂

  3. It feels so good to hear that too! My goal (create bubbles of happiness haha) is fulfilled every time I get notes from people like you. I know you will take good care of my images, as I hope they give justice to your wonderful stories. I would love to go back to Albay someday. Which reminds me, I must update my Legazpi shots and post more photos. 🙂 Here are old links to my visit:
    http://www.pbase.com/jojie_alcantara/mount_mayon_volcano
    http://www.pbase.com/jojie_alcantara/amazing_race_asia_visits_the_philippines

    Keep writing from the heart! 🙂

    1. Your blog’s tagline is so apt for your blogging goal. Your photos inspire one blogger here, and I am sure many others feel the same way. 🙂 Do tell me if you’re in Albay. I’ll take you to my hometown, Tiwi. It is very scenic, perfect for nature photography. That is, if you want to, of course. hehe

    1. You’re welcome Dan. you can nominate other bloggers naman kahit hinde follower mo. 🙂 Ako sinadya ko talaga na followers of this blog as my way of saying thank you. Btw, ang hirap mag comment sa new blog mo. AS IN! :p

Leave a Reply

