A birthday greeting

Image

If I’d be in his shoes, I’d think he is a person who rarely gets bored.

He’s spontaneous; he talks a lot, and he certainly knows how to seize moments. Heck, not even his asthma can prevent him from being totally present to others and experience a particular moment for his enjoyment.

Image

He’s hyperactive, too, that he often gets unsatisfied with us posing for a picture like timid high schoolers. As a result, he either appears like a photobomber in our travel photos or he directs the blocking. Either way, it’s always fun seeing the result (especially his photobomb moments hahaha).

Image

Image

Image

Image
I include a photo where I think I am the photobomber. To be fair. Choz!

Kidding aside, I am thankful that he always insists taking staged photographs. Aside from they are fun to do, and they allow us to loosen up, they also turn out to be one of the best memento pictures we have. It’s a bonus seeing us – travel buddies – completely in sync as if we know what each of us needs to do to have a picture-perfect souvenir.

Image

Image

I am thankful too that he’s so friendly. Often, it saves me from making small talk with strangers, especially when I don’t feel like talking to anyone. At the end of the trip, he already earns a new bff. I am not surprised.

Image Image

It also works in my favor that he talks so fast, because that means I’ll be spared from talking a lot.

But what I am thankful most about him is how he does not only tell me to seize moments, but show it in any way he can. I have been a mere observer most of my life, and if not for his spontaneous attitude and encouragement, I wouldn’t discover the joy of participating and showing (genuine) interest in life’s affairs.

Image

Image

Thank you Ely. I hope you know it’s a joy to have a friend (and travel buddy) like you.

Image

Happy happy birthday!

– From your travel buddies 🙂

Leave a Reply

